Writing

A Poem #63

Here’s a poem that was written on June 7, 1995. I think that I published it before but it resonates with me after the passing of one of my cats on Friday, June 7, 2024.

Goodbye, my friend

“How can I go on without you?” I ask

Why has God given me this impossible task?

I try not to

But I have to cry

Why, my friend, did you have to die?

I miss you so much

You haven’t been gone very long

I feel like singing every sad song

Everything reminds me of you

I am so blue

People try to comfort me

And be my friend

But I’d rather have you

My friend to the end

But the end has come for us

It doesn’t help to fight

Or fuss

I want to know if we will ever meet again

I wish you were with me, friend

Tell me how to ease the pain

Tell me how to get out of the rain

I try to think of the good times we had

Every time I try to say goodbye to you

I feel so sad

But it is time

I have to let go

Always remember I love you so

Goodbye, my friend

Goodbye forever.

© 2024  Dimples and Grins.  All Rights Reserved.

If you enjoyed this poem, please consider purchasing my latest poetry book, which is a more budget friendly book of my poetry. It features all of my previously published poems and 5 new poems. It is $2.99USD for the e-book and $6.00 for the paperback. For now, it is exclusively available through Amazon. It is also a part of Kindle Unlimited.

Leave a comment